Bee-p Bee-p Bee-p Bee-p YEAH (Also, FMM)

So, this weekend was mostly boring.  We did go to dinner Saturday for Lando’s sister’s birthday, and while the company was fine, the food was just meh.  It was “urban barbecue,” which I think means “we serve it on real plates, ya’ll.”  It was kind of cold in the restaurant, and that, coupled with the size of the group, meant our food was not at optimal temperature.  For me, this means “almost too hot to eat.”  I would post a pic of my outfit, but (a) it was just jeans and a shirt and (b) I totally didn’t think about taking one.

On to today’s blatherings!  First, a review of Gwynnie Bee.  I got my first package over the weekend.  Let me begin my review by saying that everything was BEAUTIFULLY packaged.  It was in a plastic bag inside the box, and each garment was wrapped in tissue and had a cute little sticker.  The garments all had a safety-pinned care tag & comment card – the pins were all on the tags of the garments and/or pinned AROUND the tags.  There was also an introductory card, a handwritten welcome note from Dina, and three return bags.  Basically, they thought of everything, and I got it within 4 days of placing my order!  I’m so glad I decided to try it out.

This package had the Luna from Kiyonna, this dress by Cha Cha Vente, and the Alma top from Igigi. Of the three, I decided only to wear the Alma.

The Luna? Beautiful, but I was so afraid of snagging it on something, and I didn’t really have anywhere to wear it.  The purple is so pretty in person.  Also, I wasn’t 100% on the fit…the sleeves were a little snuggish (they didn’t look bad, but I would have been fidgeting) and I wanted the under-bust seam to be just a smidge lower.  The middle and skirt fit really well.  I could have done it with a cardigan for work, but I decided to send it back in favor of some of the other things on my agenda.  The Cha-Cha Vente dress is so pretty, pattern-wise, in person, and the cut was generous enough that my 4x ass fit into the 3x (it was fitted, but not unwearable).  But the elastic on the sleeves was so tight.  It was ok for just hanging out, but if you reached for something or pushed them up (as I would have done)…no.

The one I did wear and like was the Alma top.  Today’s outfit:

Image

The top is a 26/28; the pants are from the LB outlet store earlier in the fall and are a 28 (I kind of wish I’d gone with the 26, they’re a little baggy… but I love love love these pants, they have actual pockets, they’re the perfect length, and the fabric is the rayon/nylon/spandex blend that doesn’t collect cat fur).  Boots are Clarks Cardy in a 10C/D.  They don’t quite zip all the way up, or at least not without some major finagling (i.e., pushing them down a little so they zip & then pulling them back up), so I mostly just wear them with pants.  They are from the “Artisan” line, and they seem to run a little smallish compared to my other Clarks.  The top itself is that magical non-wrinkle fabric, and the pictures don’t do justice to the print at all. It’s so much more vibrant in person.  The darkest color is really navy, but it’s dark enough that you could pair this with black and it wouldn’t look weird.

On to Topic the Second:  Friend Makin’ Mondays.  (From All the Weigh.)

1. What is your favorite color?

In the words of the Counting Crows: “Red is my favorite color – I felt so symbolic yesterday.”

2. Share one or more of your talents.

I remember numbers: phone numbers, account numbers, etc.  Also, I’m very good at eyeballing clothes on the rack and knowing whether they will fit or not without trying them on.

3. If you were spending the day getting to know someone new, where would you want to go?

A bookstore.  You can wander around and look at things, and there’s always a coffee place for when you get tired of wandering.

4. What is your favorite meal?

Cheese enchiladas and brochette shrimp from Pappasitos Restaurant and Cantina.  Failing that (since the chain is only in Texas and I am mostly in Oklahoma), the filet, garlic mashed potatoes, and salad (with ranch and a deliciously awesome honey-butter croissant) from Charleston’s.

5.  Do you prefer to text or talk?

Talk if it’s in person.  Text if the other choice is talking on the phone.

6. Share something about yourself that might surprise someone that you’re getting to know.

My musical tastes are all over the place.  My iPod has a little of a lot of things: punk, opera, country, showtunes, pop, rock, classical…what it does not have is much heavy metal and/or Angry Dude Music (i.e., Tool, Rage Against the Machine, Ohgr).

7. Do you color your hair?

Yes.  It starts out really obnoxious red, but then fades to close to my natural color.  We’re in almost natural color mode right now, which would be fine, if it didn’t have that stupid gray streak.

8. Do you wear glasses or contacts?

Sadly, yes.  I’m almost blind.  I wear contacts most of the time, but glasses when my eyes are bugging me (generally in the spring & fall when my allergies flare up).

9. What is your favorite breakfast food?

Chicken fried steak & eggs.  Nothing like it for curing a hangover.  I’m also partial to doughnuts.  (I don’t eat these every day, unless one of the attorneys in my office gets stressed out – when he does, it’s doughnuts every day.)

10. Would your friends say that you’re sarcastic?

I believe I once received the compliment that I elevated sarcasm to an art form.

11. Do you prefer salty or sweet?

Sweet.  Or a combination of the two.

12. What is the first thing you notice about the opposite sex?

Their voice.

13. What is the last movie you watched?

Music & Lyrics (Hugh Grant and Drew Barrymore)

14.  Are you religious?

That’s a negative.  I do believe in karma.

15. Are you a neat freak, a slob, or somewhere in between?

A slob.

16. Share something from your bucket list that you hope to do someday.

Go to one of the overseas music festivals.

17. Are you a risk taker, or do you prefer to play it safe?

Generally play it safe, unless I am pissed off about something.

18. Have you ever worn braces?

Not braces, but I did have some other orthodontic work done – a giant retainer thing to cure my overbite and then this awful palate expander to straighten out my back teeth…it was a square thing attached to your palate with bands going to your back teeth, then they cranked it to increase the tension and push the teeth outward.  That shit hurt so bad. After that, I was like “my teeth aren’t that crooked, and I’m not getting braces.”

19. Would you rather spend an evening at a theater or at a club?

Generally, theater.

20. If you could have three wishes, what would one of them be?

For infinitely more wishes. Heh.

Song of the Day:  Counting Crows – “Mr. Jones”

Today’s Time Waster:   Cubistry (I’ve been playing it for 3 days)

What I’m Craving:  Doritos, but I don’t have any.

One comment on “Bee-p Bee-p Bee-p Bee-p YEAH (Also, FMM)

  1. Love the colors of the Alma top. They are gorgeous together and look great on you. I’m so excited you started Gwynnie Bee and look forward to what else you try.

    I had the palette thingy too. It went on my back teeth and some of my front teeth and I had to turn that damn key myself. It was awful. I wish it on no one.

Leave a Reply

