FMM: Techno-Geek Time.

Today’s friend-makin’ Monday, brought to you by All the Weigh via Divine Diva.

1. PC or Mac?

PC. I like Macs in theory, but I have mostly used PC’s. Plus, I am more comfortable popping open the PC case and replacing parts (i.e., more RAM, video card, I could probably even do a CD drive or power supply – not sure about the hard drive and/or motherboard, but I’m sure I could figure it out eventually).

2. When did you get your first computer?

We had a Tandy 64 when I was a kid, then some sort of early PC. I got my own when I went to college in 1992. I didn’t really discover the internet till 1994 or 1995…even then, it was mostly bulletin boards and games (anyone remember Acrophobia? I wasted so much time on that shit.) My university didn’t have an open network at that point. A lot of people didn’t even really have e-mail yet. I eventually switched to AOL in the late 90s because the local ISP I had been using folded. I kept it for a while, but eventually just used IE and then Firefox.

3. Do you use cable, DSL or something else?

Cable, but I hate it. I liked DSL so much better. I’m sure that’s not everyone’s experience, but the connection was way more reliable and faster. Our cable internet times out all the time, and it’s been through several periods of not working right. For example, it was chugging along fine, and then it suddenly slowed WAY down. World of Warcraft was almost unplayble because of the lag, and forget watching videos. We called, and they kept saying the problem was on our end. Finally, they sent a truck to the apartment complex, and it magically started working again. But it was our problem. Also, around this time, they also sent a “free upgrade” pass. We haven’t had as many issues, but we’ve still had the occasional bad connection. I would sign us up for DSL, but Lando is in charge of that department and he previously had a severe disagreement with the DSL provider in our area (who used to be a long-distance provider, when such things were not free).

4. When choosing a laptop, do you think it’s more important to choose the fastest one, or the lightest one?

Depends on how much you travel. If you don’t travel a lot, the fastest. If you do, the weight needs to figure in. If you have to have a fast one, get one of those rolling briefcases, otherwise one flight delay and you feel like your shoulder is going to fall off from carrying that shit.

5. What kind of cell phone do you own?

HTC Evo 4G, which is bullshit because there is no 4G in Oklahoma from Sprint. They told us they were upgrading it soon. That was a year and a half ago, and they have it all AROUND us….grrr. I like it ok, but I’m considering an iPhone for upgrade time…however, one of my co-workers got a Samsung Galaxy something that is super lightweight, so I may get one of those.

6. How do you carry your laptop when you travel?

Under the seat in front of me. If I am traveling alone, it’s in a girlie computer bag (it’s a plain briefcase-type but it’s a bright pinkish-red); if Lando is with me, it’s in a sleeve in a backpack so he can help carry it without feeling like he has a purse.

7. How many e-mails do you send on an average day?

It really depends on what I’m doing and how busy my day at work is. Anywhere from 15-75.

8. Do you ever blog using your iPad or similar tablet?

I have a Kindle Fire, and I hate typing on a touch screen, it makes me feel like an idiot. I’m not a huge texter for the same reason. Like, one of my friends texts me, and starts conversing, and I’m like “just log on to WoW so I can type using a keyboard.” Plus, I’m generally near a PC.

9. What do you use more often – a desktop or a laptop?

Desktop. The laptop is for my infrequent travels.

10. As a blogger, are there other gadgets that you need to get the job done? If so, what are they?

Digital camera or phone camera….that’s about it. And those aren’t 100% necessary, even if a picture *is* worth 1000 words. Let’s face it, most of the pictures I post are of my cats. They’re adorable, but does the internet need more cat pictures? Probably not so much.

Leave a Reply

