Stomach Blue?

So, tis Monday once more.  I spent most of the weekend playing World of Warcraft and preparing for the expansion that launches tonight…unfortunately, it launches at midnight pacific time, which is 2 am, which sucks when you have to be to work at 8:30.  I would go to bed now and get up in the middle of the night, except (a) I totally wouldn’t be able to sleep because it’s too goddamn early and (b) then I wouldn’t wake up, because it’s not time yet and I don’t have to be somewhere that involves me getting paid.  Of course, knowing me, I’ll try to go to bed at midnight and then be awake because I want to stay up for launch.  Then I’ll give up, get up, and the servers will crash, and then I’ll be pissed off and awake and tired and cranky all day tomorrow.  I will not call in sick.  I will not call in sick.  I will not call in sick.  It’s not helpful that my boss will be gone tomorrow….maybe I can GO and then fake a stomach virus?  But I probably won’t because I’ll feel guilty, and also because then the universe will punish me for my transgressions by giving me a REAL stomach virus, or food poisoning, or something. 

Compounding my desire to stay home and play a video game is the fact that I got my new computer last week and it’s bad ass.  It has LED lights everywhere and about 12 fans and 2 video cards.  However, I had to get a new keyboard, because my wireless ergonomic one is great for typing but not so much for anything else…it had horrible lag (as in, I’d be merrily typing away and it would catch like, the last three letters).  And since I use the keyboard to move around and do things in-game, that wasn’t so helpful either.  So now I have a fancy gaming keyboard that also has lots of blue LED lights to match the computer, but the keys are all close together and I feel like I’m having to relearn to type because my fingers want to reach farther for the keys.  

Ugh.

Anyway, it’s time for Friend-Making Monday!  As usual, FMM is brought to you by All the Weigh via Divine Mrs. Diva&.  The topic this week is “Fall Favorites.”  (I think.  I’m too lazy to click over to the other tab to make sure that’s the title.)

1. What is your favorite thing about this time of year?

The face that soon it will not be over 100 degrees again for a while. Also, Halloween candy.

2. What do you hope to do again before Summer is officially over?

…I got nothing. I hate summer. It’s still far too much like summer here for my happiness level.

3. When did you last go on a hay ride?

Hmm. Probably high school? But there may have been one in college.

4. What is your favorite pumpkin dish?

Probably this pie that combines pumpkin pie with cheesecake…there’s a pumpkin layer and a cheesecake layer, but the pumpkin layer isn’t all slimy like pumpkin pie sometimes is.

5. Do you decorate your home for fall?

That’s a negative. I am not really into seasonal decorating. I put up a Christmas tree once. The cats scattered ornaments all over the house. After that, I sort of lost whatever minimal motivation I had in the first place.

6. Do you have any hobbies that are seasonally specific? If so, what are they?

Not really, but I do tend to cook more in the fall. It’s just so fucking hot in the summer that if I stand over the stove for an hour, I never really cool back off.

7. Apple cider or hot chocolate?

Probably apple cider. If I do hot chocolate, I tend to mix it with my coffee in the morning (seriously, those little Land O’Lakes hot cocoa packets are awesome made with coffee instead of water, and whipped cream on top. This is how I discovered that whipped cream tastes good on coffee). I also really like Spiced Tea (it’s not tea in the teabag sense…it’s Tang, lemonade, instant tea, and some spices. One of the spices is cloves. That shit is way more expensive than buying weed. I bought the other ingredients, and COMBINED they cost less than the little tiny jar of cloves).

8. Are you a fan of football? If so, who is your team?

Ugh, football. I’m a fan of football being over. I actually like it when the team for my alma mater starts losing, because then people shut the fuck up about it and quit wanting to watch the games.

9. Share a fond Fall memory.

Trick or treating with my friends in high school was awesome. We were probably too old, but we all put on costumes and collected candy anyway.

10. It’s not Fall until…

It’s cold enough to wear a turtleneck sweater and not want to rip it off at lunchtime.

2 comments on “Stomach Blue?

  1. I’ve been wanting to upgrade my keyboard to a good wireless, but I never really thought about in-game lag time. That sucks! I use the keyboard for movement when playing Skyrim. I’m jealous of your bad ass computer though! My husband upgraded mine for Christmas last year, so it is really great but I need a way better video card. Maybe I will get that this Christmas 🙂

    And I second the hot cocoa in coffee. YUM!

  2. Yeah, the wireless keyboard is fine for work, and it was fine with my old crappy computer, but with the new computer it was awful. It might be different if you got a more gaming-specific one, but I just didn’t want to take chances because I was so frustrated. For what it’s worth, I had the Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Wireless Desktop 9000 (maybe it’s 7000). I’ve typed on one of those ergonomic keyboards for at least 8 years and I love it….so much easier on my abused carpal tunnels.

Leave a Reply

