Food Making Monday. I Mean, Friend Making Monday.

Oh hai.  It’s Monday again, which means it’s time to bemoan the fact that you are still unemployed and think you suck time to make friends, courtesy of Kenlie at All the Weigh.  This week’s topic is food.  All I want to really eat are Russell Stover Coconut Cream Eggs right now.

Food Questions

1. What did you eat for dinner last night?
Hot dogs. I need to go to the grocery store.

2. If you could make one food calorie-free for the next year, What would you choose?
Chocolate.

3. How often do you go to the grocery store?
About once a week or so, depending. If I have a random craving for something or I forgot something important (like cat food or asswipe), I’ll go back.

4. Do you make a list before buying groceries?
Sort of. I try to make mental notes of what we’re out of (see above re: cat food, toilet paper, coffee), and if I’m making something specific, I usually write down the ingredients if it’s stuff I don’t ordinarily buy.

5. List three things that can always be found in your kitchen.
Soda, ramen, a cat or two.

6. How often do you clean out your fridge?
Not very often…I sometimes find scary things. Mostly we don’t keep leftovers that long, but sometimes a stray bottle of coffee creamer or package of cheese or something will hide.

7. Do you ever use a slow cooker? If so, will you share a recipe?
Yes. Not as often as I should, probably…but I just discovered (1) slow cooker liners – these are GENIUS; and (2) that the crock pot does, with a little wiggling, actually fit in the dishwasher. Recipe I tried last week for the first time is adapted from the Pioneer Woman. You will need:

  • One 5-6 pound pork shoulder roast (sometimes called pork butt or picnic roast)
  • Two large-ish onions (her recipe called for one, I used an extra because I like onions)
  • Two 12-ounce cans of Dr. Pepper
  • One small can chipotle peppers in adobo sauce
  • Salt & pepper

Cut the onions in big chunks and throw them in the bottom of the crock pot. Rinse off the roast & cut the strings off if it has them. Salt & pepper the roast. Stick it in the crock pot on top of the onions, fat side up. Pour in the Dr. Pepper. Add the peppers – I only used half the can and it was plenty spicy for me, but if you like it hot dump the whole can in there. When it’s done cooking, it will basically fall apart. If it doesn’t fall apart, cook it longer. After it’s done, scoop all the meat out of the crock pot. Skim off the fat. Shred the pork. After it’s shredded, skim the fat out of the crock pot as best you can…it would help if you had one of those wire skimmer/strainer things, which I do not. I need to remember to grab one of those if I make this again. After the pork is shredded & the fat skimmed, stick it back in the crock pot to keep it warm for serving. We used it for sandwiches, but you could also use it in soft tacos, by itself with mashed potatoes, etc. It’s delicious.

(As far as temperature, I put mine on high for a couple of hours because I am a dumbass and forgot to turn on the crockpot when I first put the stuff in there. After about 2 hours, I turned it to low and left it there. I did flip the roast over for a bit late in the afternoon (actual cooking started about 10:30 am). However, I think if you put it on low earlier in the morning and say, went to work, it would probably be perfect when you got home.)

8. How often do you try new recipes?
Not really as often as I would like. I’m kind of scared that if I try a new recipe, I won’t like it or the man won’t like it, and ingredients can get kind of pricey. I would like to learn to cook seafood, because I love it, but I can’t really afford to throw away $30 on a recipe that doesn’t turn out. I have made a few new things in the last month or so, since I haven’t been working.

9. What is the most delicious meal(s) you make?
Chicken and dumplings. I also make an awesome grilled cheese.

10. Share at least one thing that is currently in your kitchen even though you don’t like it.
There’s not much right at the moment…like I said, I need to go to the store. Heh. The manpanion likes different chips than I do, and he also buys ham, which I do not like (it’s pink. I don’t like pink food). Oh wait, there is frozen broccoli. I don’t like broccoli. I will eat it raw in a salad or something, or cooked if it’s in the middle of a pile of rice and cheese, but otherwise, I’m not a fan. Actually, I tend to like veggies more raw than cooked…I don’t like cooked carrots, for example. It’s ok if they’re in with a roast and soaked in meat juice. I really don’t like cooked celery.

Song of the Day: “Oxford Comma” – Vampire Weekend
Today’s Time Waster: MOTHERFUCKING RECIPES
What I’m Craving: Tacos.

2 comments on “Food Making Monday. I Mean, Friend Making Monday.

  1. I agree, the slow cooker liners are awesome!! I forgot to put one in when I made soup last and was so mad at myself. It saves me a hell of a time washing it out. It doesn’t fit in our small dishwasher at all.

  2. I lol’d to the opening of this post. When I moved to Denver from the east coast on a whim, it took me a long time to find a job. It was a really anxious time for me and I struggled a lot with my self esteem. Why didn’t someone want to pay me for the skills I’d worked so hard for!? Oh if only I could go back and enjoy it as a unique break from the daily grind.

    Stopping by for a belated FMM. I answered Kenlie’s questions, too: http://delightfullyshrinking.com/2013/03/friend-makin-monday-food-questions/

Leave a Reply

