…as a Kite. (FMM)

Greetings earthlings.  It’s Monday again, and I’m sick.  I was going to skip the doctor but I had that nasty hacky cough, so I decided to hit up the urgent care this afternoon.  Might as well use that health insurance before it runs out, right?  So after about a 30 second exam, the doctor was like “here, have some antibiotics & cough medicine.”  My normal doctor gives me a generic version of Happy Fun Cough Syrup that is delicious and only costs like $6.50, but the urgent care people gave me some shit that was like $30 and tastes like shit.  Whatever.  It seems to be having the desired effect…I’m still coughing occasionally but I could give a fuck.

Mondays are also the time for making friends, courtesy of Kenlie at All the Weigh.  This week’s topic is “Pondering Personal Thoughts.”  Feel free to answer the questions on your blog (or in the comments if you only do Twitter and don’t feel like posting a bunch of random tweets), and be sure to go to Kenlie’s blog and link as well.  Without further ado:

1. How old would you feel if you didn’t know how old you are? 

Probably in my early 20’s, but not in the good “I feel young and awesome” way, in the bad “OH GOD WHAT AM I GOING TO DO WITH MY LIFE” kind of way.

2. Are you the kind of friend you’d want to have as a friend?

Usually, although I’ve been sort of bad at it lately. I’ve been completely stuck in my head. For me, the most important things about friendship are (a) loyalty and sticking up for the people who are important to you if someone else is fucking with them, and (b) not succumbing to any sort of schadenfreude or envy about the good things that happen to them. It’s always been hard for me not to compare myself to other people, so with my friends, I make a very conscious effort not to be that way. One of my best friends taught me that, in my early 20’s. She was always supportive and told people they were beautiful and she loved them and she was happy when they were happy. Since no one in my life up to that point was ever that way, it was a revelation. I don’t always succeed in the not comparing/not feeling like I always come up wanting department, but at least I was able to see that about myself and make an effort to stop doing it.

3. Look back at the last year. When did you feel most excited about something in your life?

I was most excited about starting a new job in July. We’ve all seen how that worked out. *headdesk*

4. Have you ever been with someone and not spoken a word, only to walk away thinking that was the best conversation ever?

Yes.

5. If you won 100 million dollars Monday, would you continue doing whatever you usually do on Tuesdays?

Probably not. I’d be in the emergency room having a damn heart attack or getting run over by a bus or something. Hehe. But seriously, no, I would be house shopping, car shopping, furniture shopping, financial advisor shopping, vacation shopping….

6. What would you do differently if you knew no one would judge you?

Wear shit without sleeves this summer. It’s stupid as hell, and I know probably no one is going to judge me more harshly for sleeveless clothes than they would for say, wearing obnoxious colors or my red hair or my general refusal to be apologetic, but somehow, the sleeveless thing gets me every time.

7. Share something you do differently than most people.

I put my contact lenses in with my left hand and take them out with my right.

8. What’s one thing that you really want to do that you’ve never done?

Travel outside of the United States.

9. If you had to move out of state right now, where would you move?

Oregon.

10. What is the one thing that you’d like to change most about the world?

I would make it so that sex and/or gender were not causes for discrimination.

 

Song of the Day:  “Cough Syrup” – Young the Giant

Today’s Time Waster: Cake wrecks…this week appears to be breakup cakes.

What I’m Craving: Something fun to do.

Leave a Reply

