I Don’t Know What’s Wrong with These Kids Today (FMM)

Since I just posted an entry earlier today (let’s not talk about how completely jacked up my sleep schedule is right now), I’ll move right on to Friend Makin’ Monday (brought to you, as always, by Kenlie at All the Weigh. Today’s theme is: Childhood Flashbacks

1. Did you have a set bedtime as a child? If so, what was it?

Oh, yes. My parents made me go to bed at like 8:00. Being that I have been a night owl since birth (my mom bought me an alarm clock at 4 or 5 because every morning when she woke me up for school I told her I hated her), I thought this was cruel and unusual punishment. We were allowed to stay up late on Fridays, though. We would usually have pizza and watch “The Dukes of Hazzard” and “Dallas” and “Falcon Crest.” I have no idea why my parents would let me watch those trashy-ass TV shows but wouldn’t let me watch a lot of PG and R-rated movies; also, I pretty much read whatever I wanted. Speaking of reading, the early bedtime meant that I got busted A LOT with a flashlight under the covers reading a book.

2. Were you taught to be a member of the “Clean Plate Club?” Did it have affect your eating habits as an adult?

Not really. I do remember some “eat two bites” kind of shit, but my mom was a picky eater as a kid and didn’t usually fight with us much about food.

3. Share one thing that you were not allowed to do as a child.

Ride my bike in the street (well, at least until we moved to Pennsylvania when I was 7 and we didn’t have sidewalks).

4. What is the cheapest gas price you can remember?

I remember when I first was living in Norman and working in Oklahoma City, gas was like $0.79 a gallon at 7-11 (this was in 1998 or 1999). However, I remember gas being more than that when I was in high school and college. I think there was just a really cheap stretch. It was awesome because I could fill my tank for like $9.00. Now it’s like $45.00 when I don’t let it get to the point where I’m sucking fumes.

5. What was your favorite thing on the playground?

I liked the swings. It was awesome, when I was in college, there was a swingset on the lawn between the dorms. It was pretty popular.

6. Share one thing that your parents always made you do that you didn’t like doing.

The dishes. My brother is 3 1/2 years younger than I am, so when they first decided to make “assigned” chores instead of just telling us to do shit, they said he was too young to do the dishes, so all he had to do was set the table. It wouldn’t have been so bad, but my mom is kind of anal retentive about how the dishwasher gets loaded, and she would tell me I was doing it wrong and make me re-do it. The dishes were my job until my parents got divorced when I was 14 and we ate out every night for like 6 months (my dad was big on home cooking and my mom rebelled. We ate at the Mexican food restaurant across the street from our apartment at least 4 times a week. They brought us our food without us actually ordering after a while).

7. Do you remember your first kiss? If so, share the details!

I think I was 13 or 14…it was at a party, and we were playing some dumb party game, and I kissed one of my guy friends. We sort of dated in high school, but I was too stupid and insecure to understand that he actually did like me as more than a friend.

8. Did you prefer to play inside or outside?

Mostly inside, but I liked going to the pool in the summer…I have always been a water baby. I did like riding my bike, also.

9. What was your favorite TV show growing up?

Hmm. It was different ones at different times. I loved the “Mickey Mouse Club” and “Sesame Street” as a little kid; I liked “The Dukes of Hazzard” and “Fraggle Rock” and “The Smurfs” in mid-elementary school; and later on, I liked “Jeopardy” and “Tiny Toon Adventures.” But I’ve always been much more into books than TV.

10. Share one awesome childhood memory.

I remember the last night we lived in Pennsylvania. We only lived there for 2 years, it was a temporary assignment for my dad. So the last night we were in town, I spent the night with my best friend Sarah and we had an epic, epic Barbie beauty pageant and soap-opera-worthy musical theater extravaganza.

Bonus: Share a picture of yourself as a child.

There are a bunch of them in this post. Also, my Twitter/Disqus icon is one of my childhood pictures. True fact: I had it as my Facebook profile photo, until one of my friends emailed me about how cute my kid was and I had to explain that no, it wasn’t offspring, just me.

3 comments on “I Don’t Know What’s Wrong with These Kids Today (FMM)

  1. Came by from FMM. I forgot about Dukes of Hazard. I had the same thing reading-wise, no limits on what I could read, and frequently in trouble for reading by flashlight after bedtime. Cool idea to have a swingset near the dorms, I bet that would have been fun. Love your last night in PA, kids can be so creative!

  2. Well, at least your facebook friend thought you were cute! My friends and I actually spent the night on the swings just a few days ago. Trying to relive our youth.

  3. Pingback: Talk of Circadian Rhythms… | Loopier by the Minute

Leave a Reply

