Be Sure to Wear Some Flowers in Your Hair

Over the weekend, I was bored. So I decided it was time for a project. As I’ve said before, I am not really very “crafty.” I think it’s a combination of frustration and impatience, coupled with the fact that I cannot make my hands do what I see in my head. However, the one arts-and-crafts type thing that I can do…is tie-dye. I wanted to make some tie-dye things for the niece, because no baby should ever be free of hippie awesomeness. Granted, the child needs clothes like she needs a hole in the head…Lando’s mom has pretty much purchased/found enough clothes to last her till kindergarten…but she shouldn’t get to have all the fun.

Lando makes fun of my hippie tendencies, but he always wants in on the tie-dye action. Because baby clothes don’t take up nearly all the dye, we also each dyed a shirt.

The last time I dyed things, the dye didn’t hold nearly as well as I wanted it to. I use a kit similar to this. (This brand, but I couldn’t find the colors I used.) It says one step, but that’s kind of bullshit. If you don’t pre-treat the fabric, the colors are not nearly so vibrant as they appear in that picture once they have been rinsed and washed. Therefore, this time, I presoaked the garments with soda ash, a/k/a washing soda. (It was on the laundry aisle near the fabric softener…it comes in a box like baking soda, only it’s stronger.) I used a sink full of water and about 1/3 cup of washing soda, and let the stuff soak for about half an hour.

This was Lando’s shirt:

20130421_132802

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

These were the baby ones (Lando did the blue & purple one in the bottom corner). I was really happy with how the skirt turned out. I was a little worried about it, because it wasn’t 100% cotton…it’s a cotton/poly/spandex blend. In order for the dye to be vivid, you really need to use natural fabrics. The skirt was more cotton than otherwise, so we took a chance.

20130421_133021

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And this is mine, which is also this month’s contribution to Sartorial Medley, the monthly fashion challenge hosted by Hailey and Ais. The theme this month was “skirts.” If you want to participate, e-mail your link and picture to Hailey – divinemrsdiva at gmail dot com.

20130422_180654

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Being that we actually had a nice day, I decided it was time to mow the winter growth on my legs and wear something short. The skirt is actually a skort…it has shorts underneath. I got it last summer at Catherine’s on clearance, and I think they have some similar items at Lane Bryant and Catherine’s this summer. I love it, because it’s comfy and it looks cute, but you don’t worry about flashing people. The t-shirt was a plain white Just My Size t-shirt from Walmart in a 5x…they have changed those shirts so much over the years. I have a couple that I have seriously had for at least 10 years, and they’re a 4x. They fit perfectly, they’re a good length, and while they’re a little worn, they’re still fine for wearing around the house. The newer versions shrink insanely bad when you wash them, especially lengthwise. But, for $5.97, they’re okay. The shoes are Sanuk Yoga Mat Flip-Flops. Because I was worried about width, I ordered them in an 11, but I may order a new pair for this summer in a 10. They did stretch a little, and the soles are not as slick as some of the cheaper flip-flops. They’re nice and squishy and comfortable, and they come in a billion colors.

Song of the Day: Radiohead – “Creep”
Today’s Time Waster: Read the reviews.
What I’m Craving: A limeade.

3 comments on “Be Sure to Wear Some Flowers in Your Hair

  1. I haven’t worn tie-dye in ages, though I almost bought a little summer dress when I was in Bangkok (didn’t look all that great, though). Love the way it turned out, though. Think I’ll just stick to buying it instead of trying to do it myself, can’t imagine how much of a mess I would make with it 😉

  2. My sister and I made tie-dye t-shirts one time. This was a LONG time ago, mind you. We followed the directions and put them in the dryer after they air-dried to set the color. Turns out a lot of color stayed in the dryer so when my mom washed my stepdad’s work shirts, they got little speckles of dye on them. We got in SO MUCH trouble. So I haven’t made anything tie-dye since then.
    I love the way yours turned out though!

    • The directions were bad. From the package directions on what I used (and from what I’ve read online as well), you don’t let them dry. When you’re done tie-ing and dye-ing, you wrap the wet shirt in a plastic grocery sack or two and let them sit for at least 6-8 hours (I usually let mine sit for at least 12-18). Then, you rinse them out until the water runs clear, wash them, and dry them. No dye in the machines, and they’re colorfast and can be washed with the rest of your clothes. The important thing is for them to stay wet long enough for the dye to fully penetrate the fabric and set. I may do a tutorial on this…was thinking I need some new pillowcases.

Leave a Reply

