Turn it up to eleven.

Being that my birthday is on or around Mother’s Day, I’m fairly used to not getting much in the way of an actual birthday celebration on my actual birthday. If it’s not Mother’s Day, it’s someone’s graduation. This year was no exception. Lando’s mom decided that she wanted to go out to dinner. I got a half-assed “happy birthday.” Oh well. It’s not like I really want to draw attention to the fact that I am perilously close to the big 4-0 (that would be next year). However, I did at least decide I would look cute.

My outfit is also my contribution to this month’s Sartorial Medley, a monthly fashion challenge hosted by Hailey of Divine Mrs. Diva and Ais of Couture for Curves. This month’s theme is “Bold Colors,” and I thought my newest acquisition from eshakti fit the bill nicely:

MayDress1

MayDress3

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And this last picture, of me making jazz hands, is because Lando always asks if I’m going to “pose” when he takes an outfit picture:

MayDress2 (JazzHands)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I am in love with the retro print. I paired the dress with a necklace from a local “$1 Jewelry” store and nude sandals (these, in beige). I really, really want some green sandals to go with this, but I have not yet found the perfect pair. I found some at Target that would have worked, but they were kind of narrow and I decided that looking cute does not require epic blisters.

Despite getting my actual day ganked, I did get some fun presents. Chief among those is a Kitchen Aid Stand Mixer, in cobalt blue:

20130507_182057

I have been baking. I have made the Pioneer Woman’s Best Chocolate Sheet Cake Ever twice, and I might make some more tomorrow. It’s perfect. Every time. The perfect amount of sweet, the perfect amount of chocolatey, the perfect cake-to-frosting ratio. I don’t use nuts in the frosting, because I don’t like them. About my only exception to the nuts rule involves white chocolate macadamia nut cookies, and maybe a sprinkle of peanuts on Pad Thai. Otherwise, nuts are just a way to ruin perfectly good cakes/cookies/pasta/bread/candy.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’ve also made bread a couple of times. The mixer came with a little instruction manual/cookbook, and my first attempt was plain white bread. Despite not knowing what the fuck the instructions considered “slightly sticky,” the bread turned out very well. Lando and I pretty much scarfed the first loaf down with butter before the oven cooled. Next, I tried rye bread, which I don’t like but he does, and I figured I would be nice. I used this recipe, and it turned out well also. (It did seem like it needed about 1/4 to 1/2 cup more all-purpose flour than the recipe stated…it was gluey rather than “slightly sticky.” Right now, these two loaves of cinnamon bread are in the oven:

20130521_215242

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One of them is perfectly shaped, and the other one is lumpy and misshapen. That’s pretty much what happened with the first batch, too. Of course, I don’t actually own a rolling pin, so I kind of had to roll it out using a cup turned on its side and a little creative hand-flattening. Maybe a rolling pin would help with a little more uniformity. So would learning to divide dough in half equally. Sigh.

Song of the Day: “I Only Want to Be With You” – Dusty Springfield
Today’s Time Waster: I got nothing today. I’ve been watching news coverage of the tornadoes that hit yesterday just south of here. Luckily, all my peeps are ok and still have houses.
What I’m Craving: More chocolate cake.

10 comments on “Turn it up to eleven.

    • Yeah, the zippers are kind of a pain in the ass. I mostly only order stretchy-ish stuff from them, but this one is not, and it did require a little wriggling.

  1. I love how you did your makeup here too! I see the green eyeshadow in the last pic!
    This is such a cute dress. The colors are so vibrant and 70s. It reminds me of my beloved Barbie Doll house I had when I was a kid. I LOVED that thing so so so much. My mom made me give it away when we moved again. I was so sad.

    Anyway, this looks terrific on you. (Cute sandals too!) And congrats on your KitchenAid. I LOVE mine so much. I don’t stir any ingredients anymore. lol

    • Hah, I had one of those too. I actually voluntarily sold mine at a garage sale because I was saving for a new bike. And it’s actually eyeliner…from the Sephora “color of the year” collection. I’m not brave with eyeshadow really, but I own every color of eyeliner imaginable.

      • I just bought one of those little cheap “168 eyeshadows” palettes off of Amazon so I could try some different colors without going bananas and getting a ton of a color I won’t use much. Some of them are nicely pigmented. I played around today with doing a yellow/orange/red/green lid and actually liked it. lol It will be fun to play.

  2. Sorry your birthday was lack luster; though I have to admit some envy regarding that kitchen aid.

    Very cute outfit, I like it with those sandals but I think you’re right, green would just be perfect with them. You might want to check Duo out for sandals, they just had a lot of green ones come in and they’ve got a sale going on at the moment.

    • The KitchenAid is pretty bad ass, I must admit. I think it’s almost time to make more cake….and I will check Duo, although even on sale they might be a little over budget. I was really hoping the $12 ones from Target would work, lol.

      • Yeah the ones from Duo are decently expensive, I’ve been eyeballing a pair of low-heel sandals now for ages but they’re so pricey. Not sure if I want to spend it.

  3. This dress looks so much better on you than eShakti’s website! Very cute. The colors look great with your hair.

    My apartment kitchen has a terrible layout and storage situation, so I hardly ever use my KitchenAid anymore. Which is silly! I end up making something… then remember that I should have pulled it out when my wrist hurts from mixing by hand! Sigh.

Leave a Reply

