Top pulled down and radio on, baby. (FMM)

I hadn’t done friend-makin’ Monday in a couple of weeks, so I decided that I’d get back into the habit. This weekend thus far has been fairly uneventful – Lando had to go in to work the last couple of days, since they had a big project going on, so I’ve mostly been doing laundry and playing stupid games on my Kindle like Gem Twist 1 & 2. I also read a little, made some cake, got some groceries, and spent some time dicking around on Pinterest. (My name has an extra “o”…either some jackass ganked my username, or I signed up for Pinterest and forgot the email and password under which I signed up. Knowing me, it’s probably the latter.)

One thing I don’t get about Pinterest: what’s with the “PIN NOW READ LATER” instructions? If I am going to pin something, I want to know what the hell I’m pinning. This doesn’t necessarily apply to pretty pictures, but anything with household tips or craft instructions or beauty tips, I would like to know what it says before I suggest other people look at it. Does it take that long to click a link and skim it? I guess this goes back to my longing for the old days of blogging when people were just randomly talking about whatever instead of everything being all sponsored and themed. That’s not to say I don’t enjoy reading about specific topics, but I also like reading about non-specific topics.

I have read in several blogs lately that people were all methodical about starting their blog, or that they were nervous about starting a blog, and it just seemed kind of weird to me. But again, I think that’s the difference between blogging 10 years ago and blogging now: back then, almost everyone was anonymous. You might get a first name, but you might not. Now, a lot of people are using their actual names. I guess that’s good, in the sense that you don’t get to be a dick behind the curtain of anonymity – but it’s not good, in the sense that people are more guarded about what they share and therefore less likely to post things of a deeply personal nature. One quotation from C.S. Lewis that has always resonated with me is, “We read to know we’re not alone.” I know that I’ve read some blogs that DID make me feel less alone, that made me realize I’m not the only dork-ass weirdo, that made me see that there are other people who suffer with depression and anxiety and feel lost and alone sometimes.

Gosh, this was not the intro I planned for the topic today. Oops. The topic for FMM is “Summer Fun.” (Maybe my problem is that I hate summer. I really think I have the reverse of the usual winter Seasonal Affective Disorder.) On to the questions! If you haven’t played before, this is hosted by Kenlie at All the Weigh. If you’re stopping by, please say hi & link to your own post, if you did one. I love comments. Also, link back on Kenlie’s comments.

1. What is your favorite summer fruit?
Canteloupe. My gramma calls them “mushmelons.”

2. Do you know how to swim?
Yes. I grew up in Houston, and we practically lived at the pool in the summer. I was even on swim team for a little while in junior high. I was never very good at the backstroke, because I would run into the lane markers like every 2 feet.

3. Do you prefer sun or snow?
I will have to go with sun, simply because there are few things I hate more than driving in the snow. I don’t like hot, though. The temperatures are creeping toward 90-something here, and I am not happy about this. We’ve actually had a longer spring than usual this year, though, which has been nice. By July, I’ll be ready to hibernate in my air-conditioned cave until October.

4. What temperature do you like most inside your home?
68. Summer or winter. This makes for cheap-ass electric bills in the winter and obscene ones in the summer.

5. Is it humid where you live?
Not really, most of the time. The people here think it is, but they don’t know what the fuck they’re talking about. In Houston, it’s so humid and hot in the summer that you can’t even breathe. Sadly, though, my just-naturally-wavy-enough-to-be-annoying hair likes the humidity – it’s all shiny and bouncy when I go visit the family in Houston.

6. What is your favorite food to put on the grill?
We don’t actually have a grill, since we live in an apartment…although we do have a little George Foreman. I love steak. And seafood…grilled scallops, mmm. Also, fajitas never taste quite the same unless they’re made on the grill.

7. Do you prefer to wear a one-piece or two-piece swim suit?
One piece for actually swimming. Two for lounging about drinking things with umbrellas in them, since it’s easier when you have to go to the bathroom. Plus, I have a long torso, so the tankini-like 2 pieces are rarely long enough and I feel like I’m pulling them down all day. One day maybe I’ll get brave enough for a fatkini…

8. What is your favorite summer drink?
Lynchburg lemonade. (Jack Daniels, sprite, sweet & sour mix, triple sec.)

9. Do you prefer the pool or the ocean?
For swimming? The pool. Preferably one that no screaming children have been near, ever. For wading and enjoying the view? The ocean, hands down. I love the ocean, and I miss living near one.

10. What are you looking forward to most over the summer?
Wearing all my fun summer dresses to my new job. I start tomorrow. It’s another stupid law office job, but it’s working for an old boss I actually like, and he swears it’s a lower-stress environment and that my workload will be reasonable. I’ve heard that story before, so we’ll see. It’s a paycheck, which will be good, and it’s getting out of the house, which will also be good. I’m just not very domestic, despite recent forays into baking. (I need to make some bread today. And I am going to try to restrain myself from making more chocolate cake.)

I’m also looking forward to Gentlemen of the Road in September with my BFF.

Song of the Day: “King of the Road” – Roger Miller
Today’s Time Waster: Book suggestions based on books you like.
What I’m Craving: A breakfast burrito.

3 comments on “Top pulled down and radio on, baby. (FMM)

  1. Good luck on the job!! I hope it all goes well! Also, I second the “no screaming kids” sentiment. Seriously. And I am jealous your hair acts right in humidity. When I go visit my sister, I am going to need all kinds of products to stay fabulous.

    I’d also like to be better at writing about more personal things. I think I have touched on this with you before. Sometimes I start censoring myself when writing a personal post because I know that a lot of people I know read it, at least once in a while. It makes it tough, but I do long to share more things that I am actually going through that don’t revolve around clothing or makeup or fun stuff. I guess I just need to suck it up and do it.

  2. If you aren’t into summer or it getting too hot, you should summer in Copenhagen. It doesn’t really creep up above 80 very often and even when it does we’re right on the ocean, so there’s probably one heck of a breeze rolling through. We don’t have air conditioning, we just open up all the windows and turn on a fan. Just avoid winter here if you don’t want to deal with trudging through snow, slush, and still enduring that breeze off the ocean that makes everything cooler.

    Best wishes with regards to the new job, hopefully it won’t be super stressful. I’ll cross my fingers for you. Be sure to let us know how the first day goes?

Leave a Reply

