I am smitten by the real thing (by the real thing)

While I like buying makeup as much as the next person, I have limited space to store it. Plus, I hate having to think first thing in the morning when I’m getting ready. I need to go through my “mostly rejected” basket and toss some things. I do have several kinds of foundation, mostly because my skin has been in a MOOD lately and nothing seems to be making it happy, except going without makeup, and I don’t like to do that in the summer because my skin is all oily and blotchy and my makeup has sunscreen. I always use the same blush, and despite what I like to believe, most of my lipsticks are almost the same corporate-goth-burgundy-ish color. (I have a few bright reds and a couple of more brownish ones, but yeah. I own at least half a dozen that are the burgundy lipstick version of Blush and Bashful.) But my real makeup vice is eyeliner. I just counted. I have 46. There are a few duplicates, since Urban Decay and Sephora have earned spots on my shit list for recently discontinuing my favorite colors and I stocked up a little (1999 and Flashy Brown, respectively), but most of them are not.

Behold, the rainbow of fruit flavors:

The only color I'm missing is yellow.

The only color I’m missing is yellow.

The reason I like eyeliners is because I can fit (almost) all of them into a cup that doesn’t take up a whole lot of space on our nowhere-near-adequate bathroom counter:

The counter is a mess, so I'm hand modeling.  Nail polish is OPI "Suzi Says Feng Shui."

The counter is a mess, so I’m hand modeling. Nail polish is OPI “Suzi Says Feng Shui.”

“Almost” because I have one gel and one from Lush that don’t really fit in the cup. Also, I just had to buy a bigger cup, but hey, that means I have room for a few more! These can be grouped into a few basic color categories, of course: browns, purples, blues, greens, and random.

Let’s start with the ones I wear the most often, though. They are: Urban Decay 1999, Sephora Flashy Brown, Stila Smudge Sticks in Turquoise, and Urban Decay Underground.

I might have an extra or two of 1999 and Flashy Brown.

I might have an extra or two of 1999 and Flashy Brown.

The Flashy Brown especially is a good neutral for me. I don’t even look right in black eyeliner. I just look kind of old and cheap and used up. It makes my eye color pop, but beyond that, the rest of my face is just like “UGH NO.” 1999 is very subtle, kind of a golden purple. The new color “Ether” is SIMILAR, but it’s more of a gray undertone rather than a gold one. The turquoise is really more green than I would consider turquoise to be, but it stays on like a dream and I love it. Sadly, it’s a limited edition. I may have to go buy another one shortly, because nothing else is that color and matte. I think I looked at all possible cheaper options before I allowed myself to go buy it. Urban Decay in Underground is a little more grayish and is also good for every day.

Next, we shall move on to the brown ones. Because I love you, I swatched all of these eyeliners on my freckled hands. Hopefully the pictures don’t suck as bad as I think they do. I am the worst photographer ever. Seriously. I’ve taken like 3 good pictures in my entire life. I think of my photography skills like that old saying about monkeys and typewriters and eventually accidentally coming up with “Hamlet.” Anyway, on to the browns!

The pencils.

The pencils.

L to R: UD Bourbon, UD Whiskey, Sephora Flashy Brown, UD Underground, UD Stray Dog, UD Lucky, Sephora Glitter Copper, Ulta Golden Eyes.

L to R: UD Bourbon, UD Whiskey, Sephora Flashy Brown, UD Underground, UD Stray Dog, UD Lucky, Sephora Glitter Copper, Ulta Golden Eyes.

“Lucky” is a new addition to my collection. The Urban Decay “Vintage” 24/7 pencils (meaning the colors they discontinued) are on sale on their website for half price. The Urban Decay liners are great. They go on smoothly without tugging, and they stay on fairly well. If you don’t wear primer and/or have oily skin and/or live somewhere it’s hot, they can melt a little by the end of the day. The Sephora brand liners are mostly good…they have discontinued the “Flashy” line, but still have the ones like the glitter one. They stay on well, also, but the glitter fucking migrates under my contacts, even with primer. The non-glitter ones of this type are fine.

Let’s get purple!

Purple is supposed to be a good color for those of us with brown/amber eyes.

Purple is supposed to be a good color for those of us with brown/amber eyes.

L to R: UD Crash, Rimmel Purple Passion, Almay Purple Amethyst, UD Ransom, Sephora Flashy Ultra Violet, Sephora Fancy Violet (liquid), UD 1999, NYX Lavender Shimmer.

L to R: UD Crash, Rimmel Purple Passion, Almay Purple Amethyst, UD Ransom, Sephora Flashy Ultra Violet, Sephora Fancy Violet (liquid), UD 1999, NYX Lavender Shimmer.

“Crash” is also new & I haven’t tried it yet. I like the lavender one, although I’m not 100% fond of the texture…it’s cheaper, and it goes on like it’s cheaper. Still, for the price, it’s not horrible. I’m not as fond of the bluish-purples…they’re okay sometimes, but I prefer the more true purple or the brownish/reddish purples.

Next, I’ve got the blues…

I wasn't really sure where the hell to classify the turquoise one.

I wasn’t really sure where the hell to classify the turquoise one.

L to R: Rimmel Light Blue, Rimmel Denim, L'Oreal Navy (Gel), Sephora Fancy Blue (Liquid), UD Radium; Lush Calm (Liquid), Sephora Flashy Blue; Sephora Teal, Stila Turquoise.

L to R: Rimmel Light Blue, Rimmel Denim, L’Oreal Navy (Gel), Sephora Fancy Blue (Liquid), UD Radium; Lush Calm (Liquid), Sephora Flashy Blue; Sephora Teal, Stila Turquoise.

The gel liner is a little easier than liquid if you’re a klutz like I am. It also dries faster. Still, I’m not 100% sold on the whole navy thing. I love the light blue, and the turquoise(s), and I want the UD pencil version of the bright blue because waiting for shit to dry is dumb.

Greens, also known as “these match way too much of my wardrobe”:

Some of these I debated about whether to call them green or blue.

Some of these I debated about whether to call them green or blue.

L to R: Rimmel Ivy; Sephora Flashy Moss; UD Junkie; Sephora Green; Sephora Pantone Color of the Year (Emerald) Set (there's another one around here somewhere too); CoverGirl Liquiline Blast  (I must have sharpened off the name.)

L to R: Rimmel Ivy; Sephora Flashy Moss; UD Junkie; Sephora Green; Sephora Pantone Color of the Year (Emerald) Set (there’s another one around here somewhere too); CoverGirl Liquiline Blast (I must have sharpened off the name.)

The “Color of the Year” ones irritated my eyes a little, and they are hard to get off with makeup remover or soap but feed on your allergic reaction tears. Really, the glitter one was the worst. The matte version is what I was wearing in my May Sartorial Medley post. The darker greens I don’t wear so much, but I like the lime green CoverGirl one. It’s pretty decent quality, as well…softer than the Rimmel pencils.

AND FINALLY, the last batch, which are metallic neutrals, bright colors, and my lone black eyeliner:

You really didn't think I'd be able to take all these pictures without a cat photobomb, right?

You really didn’t think I’d be able to take all these pictures without a cat photobomb, right?

Minus the Amelia snout.

Minus the Amelia snout.

Top to Bottom:  Sephora Flashy Black; Sephora Flashy Gunmetal (it only came in a set); NYX Extreme Silver (Liquid); Ulta Starlet; Sephora Flashy Silver; UD Woodstock (Liquid); UD Woodstock (Pencil); Sephora Color of the Year from last year aka Orange.

Top to Bottom: Sephora Flashy Black; Sephora Flashy Gunmetal (it only came in a set); NYX Extreme Silver (Liquid); Ulta Starlet; Sephora Flashy Silver; UD Woodstock (Liquid); UD Woodstock (Pencil); Sephora Color of the Year from last year aka Orange.

Whew. Woodstock I love, even though I’m not really into pink for clothing. I love the gunmetal color and wish it was permanent, but I think there is a similar Urban Decay color. The Sephora Flashy Silver is the only one from that line I hated…it goes on streaky, the tip breaks off about four times on each eye because it’s too soft, and it doesn’t stay put. However, it’s ok for the occasional highlight, so I kept it (also maybe because I am a packrat).

This post has taken more effort than I put forth at work all day today. Today was one of those “type a few letters, go take a long lunch for someone’s birthday, type a few revisions, rejoice when they let you leave early” days.

Song of the Day: REM – “Crush with Eyeliner”
Today’s Time Waster: Frosting is important, like gravy.
What I’m Craving: Sleep for the love of god. I think I figured out the problem, though. I thought my multivitamins were just the women’s kind with more iron and calcium and shit, but it turns out, they’re the “metabolism boosting” ones that have a metric ass ton of caffeine in them. Must remember “no green bottles” next time.

2 comments on “I am smitten by the real thing (by the real thing)

  1. Pingback: I wish I had a rabbit in a hat (FMM) | Loopier by the Minute

  2. Oooh girl, I feel like shopping for eyeliner now! My favorites from this post have to be all the browns because I wear all of those shades, Ransom ( I love wearing purples!), Radium, Flashy Moss, Junkie, and Woodstock. I loved seeing your collection. I still have a tab up of my UD shopping cart with 3 discontinued shades. 🙂 Maybe if I am discreet, Sean won’t notice the charge, right? lol

Leave a Reply

