I wish I had a rabbit in a hat (FMM)

The weekend was fairly uneventful. I was tired. I took some naps. I cooked a few times…I made chicken fajitas, and butterscotch blondies (note: I used 3 eggs instead of the egg substitute), and mac and cheese (with bacon and peas). I did some dishes. I wrote an entry about eyeliner. I played a little World of Warcraft and a lot of Treasures of Montezuma 3. I started a book or two but wasn’t into them.

Basically, I didn’t do shit.


Recipe for Mac & Cheese:

Ingredients:
16 oz pasta of your choice
4 tbsp. butter + 2 tbsp. butter
4 tbsp. all-purpose flour
Some milk…maybe about 2 cups?
1 package bacon (I used thick cut)
1 bag steamable peas (I really only used about 2/3 of the bag)
CHEESE! (About 3-4 cups. I used pepper jack, sharp cheddar, and colby jack.)

Cook pasta according to package directions. Drain & stick back in pan with 2 tbsp. of butter. While the pasta is cooking, steam the peas – go with the shorter end of the suggested cooking time on the bag. Also, cook the bacon…make sure it’s not super crispy. Let the bacon cool.

While the bacon is cooling off, melt 4 tbsp. butter in saucepan on low heat. Add 4 tbsp. flour and whisk until smooth. Let it cook for a few minutes while you crumble the bacon. After you’re done with the bacon, add some milk to the butter/flour mixture. Whisk until smooth. Let it heat up for a couple of minutes, and then dump in the cheese. Add salt, pepper, and seasoned salt to taste. Whisk all of that together until smooth. Dump in the pasta, the bacon, and the peas, and stir together gently.

In the meantime, preheat the oven to 300-325º. Our oven is an overheating piece of shit, so I went with 300. Spray a 9×13 casserole dish with cooking spray. Dump in the mac & cheese, then top with a little more shredded cheese and a few bread crumbs (if you want). Bake for 20-ish minutes.


Time again for Friend-Makin’ Monday, courtesy of Kenlie at All the Weigh. If you decide to play, please leave a comment here & on Kenlie’s blog. Today’s questions:

1. When you looked at yourself in the mirror today, what was the first thing you thought?
Oh god I need to wash my hair.

2. Do you prefer to pay for things with cash or plastic?
Plastic. So much more convenient. Plus, it seems like when you have cash, it just disappears…like you have a $20, and the next thing you know, you have $1.23.

3. What is one word that you use too often?
Seriously. Also “fuck.”

4. Who is the last person outside of your family who said “I love you” to you?
Probably my friend CDA.

5. When was the last time you wrote a letter to someone and mailed it?
Uh. I think I sent a card to my gramma for her birthday. Mostly I stick to electronic correspondence.

6. Have you ever been called upon for jury duty?
Yes. It was federal court, and it was for theft. Basically, a bank employee made up fake checks and cashed them. Jury duty was an interesting experience. Since I’ve generally been assisting lawyers in any trial situation, it was educational to be on the other side of the fence and see what works and what doesn’t. It was also kind of nerve-racking, because the defendant was pretty young…she was in her late 20’s, I think. I felt like some of the other jurors were willing to just convict her without really looking at the evidence and making sure. Basically, myself and one other juror made everyone review all the documents before we would agree that she was guilty. It seemed like people were in a hurry to get out of there, and that was shitty. You are dealing with someone’s life and liberty, and if you were the one being charged, you would want to know that the jury took their job seriously and really looked at all the material before saying “guilty.” I actually checked online later to see what her sentence was. I don’t think she actually ended up serving much jail time…it was probation and restitution.

7. How many keys are on your key ring?
A bunch. I have keys to several friends’ houses, and my parents’ houses.

8. List two characteristics that you want to change about yourself.
I wish I was a little bit taller, I wish I was a baller…

Just kidding. I would like to be less of a procrastinator and I would love to be able to just drop off to sleep at night without the laying awake for three hours part.

9. Do you bring your own shampoo and conditioner when you travel, or do you use what the hotel provides?
Usually, when I travel, I am staying with family or friends, and I sometimes bring them. If I’m going to my mom’s, I just mooch things like shampoo and toothpaste. I used to pack that stuff all the time, but then a bottle of shampoo exploded all over my makeup bag. If I’m going to a hotel, I usually will throw a couple of trial sizes in my bag, just in case the kind they have is icky.

10. What is your birthstone? Do you like it?
An emerald, and I do like it.

Song of the Day: ZZ Ward – “Till the Casket Drops”
Today’s Time Waster: Cuteness for Monday.
What I’m Craving: Chips and queso.

2 comments on “I wish I had a rabbit in a hat (FMM)

  1. Came by from FMM. Great wishes — I think I could say the same for all 4 of them — the jokes and the real ones! I don’t usually lay awake too long, but instant sleep on command would be so nice and efficient.

  2. When I saw your post title, I immediately thought of that song. LOL Awesome! I also wish I wasn’t quite such a procrastinator and I could fall asleep immediately. Instead of laying awake listening to Sean snore, I usually stay up now and work on stuff or watch some tv or read until my eyes burn really bad. Only then am I able to fall asleep pretty fast.

    Also, I am craving Mac and cheese now.

Leave a Reply

