We’re All a Little Loony (FMM)

I have a lot on my mind at the moment, and a few serious entries are percolating, but in the meantime, I decided to actually do FMM on time this week. I will preface this by saying that I don’t generally watch a whole lot of TV. I do occasionally watch things, but I read way more than I watch TV. Lest you think that this means I am super snooty literary, let me put your mind at ease. A lot of the time, I think of books they way some people think of TV. Lately, I’ve re-read all of the Sue Grafton “alphabet mysteries” up through “K” because they were on sale for $1.99 for the Kindle. I also read some trashy chick book by Kristin Hannah, which was ok but did use a few tired-ass plots (sexual tension between BFF and husband; omg cancer; etc.), and a book called The Velvet Room, which is kind of a YA book but which was actually pretty decent. I’ve got a bunch of other things lined up to read. I am bad about putting books on my “to read” list on Goodreads and then not reading them. Oh well. I’ll probably read that shit eventually, after I get done beating Jewel Quest Heritage and the new levels on Angry Birds.

So, on to the questions. If you answer, please link in my comments and in those of our hostess with the mostest, Kenlie at All the Weigh. Say hi if you’re dropping by! I like hearing from people and finding new people to read. This week’s theme is “Let’s Talk about TV.”

1. Share your current “Must-See” TV shows.

Bizarre Foods America. I tried to get into Big Brother, but when I found out that stupid bitch Rachel had a sister in the cast…PASS. That means that Rachel will make another appearance somewhere and I never ever want to see her again.

2. Do you prefer reality shows or sitcoms?

Depends on my mood. I like reality shows that are of things that are fucked up, like the medical anomaly ones (like the Tree Man or 100 Pound Face Tumors, not the fat people ones. Those are just awful.)

3. Who is your favorite talk show host?

Probably Ellen DeGeneres. Or Craig Ferguson.

4. Which network(s) do you turn to for news?

I really get most of my news on the internet. Sometimes CNN, sometimes BBC. Sometimes one of the awful local stations (but only in inclement weather).

5. Do you have Tivo or DVR? If so, which programs do you have set to record?

I have it set to record What Not to Wear (which sadly is over), Glee, and Bizarre Foods America. My significant other records Dr. Who, Archer, Venture Brothers, sometimes other random movies and shit. I occasionally record a movie or a concert.

6. Have you ever started watching a show simply because you heard so much about it on social media? If so, which one did you watch?

No. Unless you consider my BFF emailing me and informing me that I *had* to watch Big Brother with her (2 years ago) “social media.”

7. List any TV series that you own on DVD.

Oh god. This is a LIST. Some of these are mine, some are his but since we live in the same house they count.

    30 Rock
    Chappelle’s Show
    CSI (several seasons, all pre-departure of Grissom)
    Dead Like Me (which makes me sad that it was canceled)
    Family Guy
    Firefly
    Fringe
    Heroes
    The Guild
    It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia
    The Simpsons
    South Park
    Mr. Show
    Robot Chicken
    Dr. Who
    Glee
    The Big Bang Theory
    Buffy
    Angel
    Castle
    Six Feet Under
    Archer
    Venture Brothers
    Community
    The League
    Tiny Toon Adventures
    Sherlock
    Lie to Me
    Arrested Development
    The Good Wife

I think there are some more around here somewhere, but those would definitely be Lando’s.

8. Do you have a subscription to Netflix, Hulu, etc? If so, what kind of device do you use to stream it?

I have Amazon Prime, which I use on my Kindle Fire or on my computer. We also have Netflix, which he streams on his computer or tablet or the PS3. I could stream Netflix, but I can never remember the password and Amazon has the same shit anyway. What’s funny is that I don’t really watch much in the way of TV or movies, but I guarantee that Prime has been worth it because of the amount of stupid shit I buy and have them ship to me 2nd day.

9. If you could star in a TV show that already exists, which one would you choose?

I think we had a variation on this a couple of months ago, but my answer is still Glee (even without Cory Monteith, which is just so sad). Second choice: CSI.

10. If you could bring back one TV show that is no longer on the air, which one would you choose?

Dead Like Me.

That concludes this evening’s pointless drivel.

Song of the Day: Tori Amos – “Precious Things”
Today’s Time Waster: Free fonts…I have no idea why I need these, but I find them fascinating.
What I’m Craving: The end of summer.

Leave a Reply

