I’m Sure He’d Kick an Ass or Two (FMM)

I was actually productive on Saturday because of the threat of Snowpocalypse (which turned out to be valid).  I did my laundry and went to the grocery store along with everyone else in a 20 mile radius.

This morning, I was debating whether or not to risk driving to go to work. I turned on the shower, and ONCE AGAIN, the cold-water tap wasn’t working.  This particular symptom preceded the epic flooding when the pipe burst a month ago.  There is still a gaping hole in the wall where the pipe was repaired, which I have had blocked with a rubbermaid tote lid and a hamper so that Zooey quits thinking it’s the entrance to Narnia.  I removed the tupper-lid and spent 10-15 minutes with the hairdryer on high thawing out the pipe, and just used an empty hamper with plenty of ventilation holes to block the opening in the wall.  I’ve also had the faucets dripping.  I’m just hoping our upstairs neighbors’ pipes don’t freeze.

So today, since I decided I was not going to risk life and limb going to work when all the courthouses were closed and the roads suck, I was surfing Amazon Instant Video.  I watched a few episodes from Glee Season 4, and then turned on a Cirque du Soleil movie and um, well, must have not been that interesting because I woke up for the closing credits.

Anyway, that leads us into this week’s Friend Makin’ Monday, hosted by Sarah, which is movies. If you’re playing, link up in my comments and Sarah’s; if you’re not playing, leave me a comment anyway because I like them.

On to the questions!

1. What is your all-time favorite movie?

Asking me to pick one favorite anything is just dumb. I am not capable of this. However, top 10, and why:

Shadowlands – I have seen this movie at least 20 times and it makes me fucking bawl every time. Anthony Hopkins at his best. I saw this in the theater by accident – my friends and I were late, or the other movie was sold out, and we just went to this one. So many Kleenex.

The Shawshank Redemption – The only movie ever that’s as good as the book. The original is Stephen King’s novella “Rita Hayworth & Shawshank Redemption,” which is part of a four-novella compilation called Different Seasons. Three of the four have been made into films. Some changes were made to the story when it was made into a movie, but they actually bring out things that, when I read the story (granted I was probably 13 or 14), I just didn’t get. This bombed in the theater but has developed a following on video.

South Park: Bigger, Longer & Uncut – Brilliant. And just try to watch it without singing “What Would Brian Boitano Do?” the whole next day (well, that or “Uncle Fucka”). This pokes fun at almost every musical ever, including but not limited to “Oklahoma,” “The Little Mermaid,” and “Les Miserables.” Satire with a point.

Willy Wonka & the Chocolate Factory – Okay fine I first developed a fondness for this movie when I watched it stoned out of my mind. But I like it sober, too. Gene Wilder’s slightly creepy performance makes this movie. The remake with Johnny Depp was probably truer to the original book, but Gene Wilder nailed the character because he was a better balance of loveable and creepy.

Music & Lyrics – This is just charming. Also features very catchy 80’s type songs.

Clerks II – Sick and wrong but I almost peed myself laughing.

History of the World, Part I – This was high on the high-school afternoon viewing list. “Did you bullshit last week? Did you TRY to bullshit last week?”

Erin Brockovich – Every paralegal’s dream come true.

Fahrenheit 9/11 – A critical look at the 9/11 attacks and their aftermath.

The Princess Bride – A classic. Another movie I have watched a zillion times and can pretty much recite. “You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.”

2. Who is your favorite actor and actress?

Actress: probably Robin Wright Penn. She disappears into roles the way Meryl Streep does, but hasn’t received as much critical recognition. You almost don’t realize it’s the same person. Actor: Phillip Seymour Hoffman. Same deal. RIP.

3. What was the first movie you ever saw at the cinema?

I think Cinderella, but it could have been Superman. I do remember my parents not taking me to Star Wars because I didn’t pick up my toys. I also remember Sleeping Beauty scaring the crap out of me, but I think that one was later.

4. Did you watch the Oscars last night?

Mostly. Lando was switching off with a basketball game for part of it, and I was kind of playing Facebook games and listening. I started paying more attention about halfway through.

5. How many of the Best Picture nominations did you watch and which did you enjoy the most?

None. I didn’t watch that many movies this last year. I am hoping the nominees show up on Netflix soon, as I do want to see several of them. The theater closest to us also just lowered their prices, so we might see more movies in the theater. It’s a lot easier on the wallet to sneak in some candy and pay $8 for 2 people for a matinee.

6. What did you think of Ellen hosting The Oscars?

I like her as a host, but the Oscars seemed a little too low-key this year. They need more musical numbers.

7. If you had the chance to play a part in any movie, what would it be?

Well, when I was 7, the answer would have been the lead in “Annie.” Now, I don’t really care what movie, unless I get to be the villain and/or completely nuts and/or sing a lot.

8. Is there a movie you have watched that was so bad that you have either walked out of the cinema or turned it off?

I don’t remember ever walking out of a movie, but I fell asleep during Captain Ron. I demanded a channel change on one of the Jackass movies when they were giving themselves paper cuts. Finally, I almost walked out of Dumb and Dumber when they started squirting ketchup and mustard in their mouths. I almost barfed. The thought of it now makes me throw up in my mouth a little.

9. What do you think of 3D and IMAX movies? Are they worth the extra money?

Sometimes 3D is fun, but I haven’t seen any movies where it’s really NECESSARY since Captain Eo at Disney World when I was 8. I think it’s kind of a gimmick and it sorta gives me a headache. IMAX is different – we have the IMAX dome at the local science museum, and that is worth it. I saw a Cirque du Soleil one, and the Everest one. The latter did make me kind of motion sick, but it was good. What really gets to me are a lot of the 3D effects in most new video games. Some of those make me nauseous.

10. What was the last movie you saw at the cinema?

Catching Fire (Hunger Games, Part 2). I’m really looking forward to Divergent. I just hope they don’t fuck it up. The casting looks pretty decent, so I’m hopeful.

Song of the Day: “Out of the Cold” – Amos Lee
Today’s Time Waster: Disney princesses protest!
What I’m Craving: Some more mini Reese’s cups, but I ate them yesterday.

3 comments on “I’m Sure He’d Kick an Ass or Two (FMM)

  1. I haven’t seen 3 of your Top 10, so I may have to check them out if they are on Netflix or something. Also, the first time Sean ever said “As you wish” to me, I just about fell out. That is a total panty dropper line. LOL

    • LMFAO.

      The only one of my list that is hard to find is Shadowlands…well, let’s just say I had to pay about $35 for a DVD copy on ebay because I only had VHS and it was about dead. It was in our Netflix DVD queue for like, 3 years, and then they finally said it was lost. If I can burn you a copy of it, I will, it’s that good.

Leave a Reply

